Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones in the World Demarcation of nuclear-weapon-free zones, nuclear-weapon-free status and nuclear-weapon-free geographical region Treaty of Tlatelolco The 1967 Treat for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America and the Caribbean Treaty of Rarotonga The 1985 South Pacific Nuclear-Free Zone Treaty 1 Treaty of Bangkok The 1995 Treaty on the South-East Asia NuclearWeapon-Free Zone 3 Treaty of Pelindaba The 1996 African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty 4 Central Asia NuclearWeapon-Free Zone Treaty The 2006 Treaty on a Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone in Central Asia 5 Mongolia’s Nuclear-WeaponFree Status In 1992, Mongolia declared its nuclearweapon-free status, which is internationally recognized and prohibits, inter alia, the acquisition, possession, placement, testing and use of nuclear weapons on its territory 6 Antarctic Treaty The 1959 Antarctic Treaty, inter alia, prohibits any measures of military nature on the continent of Antarctica, including any testing of nuclear weapons 7 Outer Space Treaty The 1967 Treaty on Principles Governing the Activities of States in the Exploration and Use of Outer Space including the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies, inter alia, prohibits placing nuclear weapons in orbit around the Earth, installing or testing these weapons on the Moon and other celestial bodies as well as stationing these weapons in outer space in any other manner 8 Sea-Bed Treaty The 1971 Treaty on the Prohition of the Emplacement of Nuclear Weapons and Other Weapons of Mass Destruction on the Sea-Bed and the Ocean Floor and in the Subsoil Thereof, inter alia, prohibits the emplacement of nuclear weapons on the bottom of the ocean and in the subsoil thereof 9 2 Nuclear-Weapon-Free Status – Nuclear-Weapon-Free geographical regions Land territory covered by Nuclear-Weapon-Free Treaties Sea territory covered by Nuclear-Weapon-Free Treaties – Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones 1 5 6 7 9 As of 2010, the above nine nuclear-weapon-free zones are in effect. Some of the treaties related to these zones are at different stages with regard to the signature, ratification and entry into force, as well as with regard to the signature and ratification of their associated protocols containing security assurances from the nuclear-weapon States. The delineation of the Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones presented on this map is indicative only. Adapted from an original map developed by the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs. The treaties establishing the nuclear-weapon-free zones, inter alia, ban nuclear weapons within the respective territories of the zones, including the acquisition, possession, placement, testing and use of such weapons.